About Me




 Books are mirrors; you only see in them what you already have inside you.

--Carlos Ruiz Zafon

I was born in southeastern Oklahoma and spent my early childhood between there and California, thanks to Route 66 and Greyhound buses.  My father and mother separated when I was eighteen-months old.  I didn’t know my father very well—he was the unflappable, soft-spoken stranger I called Daddy on those rare occasions I saw him—but I do know he was the stay-put kind. My mother, on the other hand, had itchy feet and no driver’s license.  That didn’t stop her from traveling; she was content to leave the driving to Greyhound. By the time I finished third grade, I had lived in four states and gone to school in three. We finally put down roots in the Texas panhandle.


After completing an associate degree in Texas, I married and raised two sons in Colorado, where I earned a BA and MA in English from Colorado State University. My oldest son now lives in southern California and my youngest, in northern Illinois..I also live in Illinois and share my home with a brown tabby named Mary Jane. I belong to a book group, which motivates me to read outside my comfort level, and a local art guild where I focus primarily on pastel painting.


I've worked in the communications field for companies such as Hewlett Packard and Hyundai, been a writer and editor for newspapers and magazines, and taught non-fiction writing courses (aka rhetoric) for Colorado State University and Cardinal Stritch University in Wisconsin. 


I'm a member of the Society for Children's Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI), Mystery Writers of Amerca (MWA), American Crime Writers League (ACWL), Western Writers of America (WWA), and the Oklahoma Writers Federation.


For answers to questions I am frequently asked, check FAQ on the menu bar.